A Bad Run & Mastitis 

My long run this weekend didn’t work out for me. I wasn’t as excited for the workout (2.25 hours easy, 45 mins race pace) as I usually am. I also felt like I was working a lot harder to hit my paces. In the second half of the run I started to have breathing issues. I chalked it up to the heat and humidity and pressed on. But I couldn’t quiet the voice in my head that was screaming for me to just stop.

And so I stopped. I was only 2.5 miles shy of being home, but I was done. I called my husband and he came to get me. I was mad at myself for being a quitter. I spent the rest of the day feeling lousy, fighting a headache, and trying to rehydrate. So it was just a bad run. I got most of it in. I had to let it go. 

The next morning I woke up with severe chills that quickly turned into a 103 fever. The headache was incredible. Within an hour the tell-tale red streaks of infection raced across my right breast and into my arm pit. Mastitis. I spent all of Sunday in bed sleeping and pumping. 

I’m on antibiotics now, but I’m still exhausted. The thought of just walking down the stairs wipes me out, let alone any amount of running. Hopefully this infection doesn’t take me out for too long. The Hartford Marathon is less than a month away and I need to be ready! 

Leave a Reply

